twitter logo

News

European Research Council (ERC) Awards

CReAM's Director, Christian Dustmann has been awarded an ERC Advanced grant on The Migration Challenge: Labour Markets, Policy Reforms, and Social Cohesion.

UCL News

ERC News

CReAM's Deputy Director, Uta Schönberg has been awarded an ERC Consolidator grant on Wage Inequality.

UCL News

ERC News

Cutting refugees’ benefits results in more crime and less education

Reducing welfare benefits for refugees and immigrants is largely ineffective for increasing employment and promoting integration, and instead leads to poverty, ‘survival crime’ and less schooling, according to a new study from CReAM's Christian Dustmann and co-authors from the Rockwool Foundation.

This research received very high media attention in Denmark and has resulted in a public hearing (26.03.2019) and a presentation in the Danish Parliament.

Press Release

Discussion Paper

UCL News

Disadvantaged boys benefit most from early school years

Research by Christian Dustmann and Thomas Cornelissen finds that boys from disadvantaged backgrounds benefit most from early schooling, helping to narrow the skills gap (60-80%) with boys from high socio-economic backgrounds.

Press Release

Discussion Paper

UCL News

The Times

The Indepedent

Tes

Housing costs have exacerbated income equality in Germany

CReAM Research by Christian Dustmann and co-authors finds that changes in housing expenditures dramatically exacerbated the rise in income inequality in Germany since the mid-1990s. The research was covered on the German press.

Press Release

Discussion Paper

VoxEU

FAZ

UCL News

Immigrant and disadvantaged children benefit most from early childcare

Attending universal childcare from age three significantly improves the school readiness of children from immigrant and disadvantaged family backgrounds.

Press Release

Discussion Paper

iNews

UCL News

FAZ

VoxEU

 

Brexit

BBC Three Counties

Christian Dustmann discussing Theresa May's comments on EU workers 'jumping the queue' on BBC Three Counties.

Research Staff

Christian Dustmann, Director
email: c.dustmann@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 3549 5356
   
Uta Schönberg, Deputy Director
email: u.schoenberg@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 3549 5351
   
Ian Preston, Deputy Research Director
email: i.preston@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 7679 5836
   
Sebastian Otten, Director of Communications
email: s.otten@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 3549 5497
   
Alice Kügler, Senior Research Officer
email: a.kuegler@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 3549 5317
   
Hyejin Ku, Senior Research Officer
email: h.ku@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 3549 5344
   
Tuan Nguyen, Senior Research Officer
email: t.nguyen@ucl.ac.uk Tel: 
   
Anna Okatenko, Senior Research Officer
email: a.okatenko@ucl.ac.uk Tel: 
   
Gregor Pfeifer, Senior Research Officer
email: g.pfeifer@ucl.ac.uk Tel: 
   
Ragnhild Camilla Schreiner, Senior Research Officer
email: ragnhild.schreiner.14@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 3108 6612
   
Tanya Surovtseva, Senior Research Officer
email: t.surovtseva@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 3549 5570
   
David Zentler-Muno, Senior Research Officer
email: david.zentler-munro.13@ucl.ac.uk Tel: 
   
Barbara Boelmann, Research Officer
email: Barbara.Boelmann.14@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 3549 5571
   
Mimosa Distefano, Research Officer
email: mimosa.distefano.13@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 3549 5572
   
Jerome Adda, Research Fellow
email: jerome.adda@unibocconi.it Tel: 
   
Marco Alfano, Research Fellow
email: marco.alfano@strath.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)141 548 3860
   
Pedro Carneiro, Research Fellow
email: p.carneiro@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 3549 5361
   
Thomas Cornelissen, Research Fellow
email: thomas.cornelissen@york.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)19 0432 3799
   
Francesco Fasani, Research Fellow
email: f.fasani@qmul.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 7882 5869
   
Tommaso Frattini, Research Fellow
email: tommaso.frattini@unimi.it Tel:  +39 (0)2503 21535
   
Joseph-Simon Görlach, Research Fellow
email: josephsimon.goerlach@unibocconi.it Tel:  +39 02 58363320
   
Albrecht Glitz, Research Fellow
email: albrecht.glitz@upf.edu Tel:  +34 93542 2757
   
Ines Helm, Research Fellow
email: ines.helm@ne.su.se Tel:  +46(0)8-16 28 80
   
Attila Lindner, Research Fellow
email: a.lindner@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 7679 5485
   
Steve Machin, Research Fellow
email: s.j.machin@lse.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 7955 7443
   
Luigi Minale, Research Fellow
email: lminale@eco.uc3m.es Tel:  (34) 91 624 95 94
   
Suphanit Piyapromdee, Research Fellow
email: s.piyapromdee@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 7679 5801
   
Imran Rasul, Research Fellow
email: i.rasul@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 7679 5853
   
Anna Raute, Research Fellow
email: a.raute@qmul.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 7882 3300
   
Jan Stuhler, Research Fellow
email: jan.stuhler@uc3m.es Tel:  +34 91 624 9678
   
Jonathan Wadsworth, Research Fellow
email: j.wadsworth@rhul.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)17 8444 3464
   
Daniel Wilhelm, Research Fellow
email: d.wilhelm@ucl.ac.uk Tel:  +44 (0)20 7678 5800